Paddle Planner.com - BWCA, Quetico, Sylvania, and other paddling places
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
rainman  
#1 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2021 8:20:00 AM(UTC)

Im a newbie, traveling to BWCA in late August. What suppliers have best maps for fishing, wayfinding, features?

Fisher

Voyageur

McKenzie

other?

Thanks

Sponsor
Ben Strege  
#2 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2021 9:57:33 AM(UTC)

Was thanked: 159 time(s) in 140 post(s)

They all are good and have similar features. I usually have more than one type of map with me. They all have mistakes, but they have different mistakes on each, so getting more than one type allows you to compare. I also print out maps from this site in addition to getting a printed map. (I do not recommend using only maps from this site since these are meant for planning, not navigation.)

One difference is the scale. Fisher, Voyageur, and True North have a scale of 1 1/2 inches per mile. McKenzie has a scale of 2 inches per mile, so it is more "zoomed in" and shows more detail. This also means you cannot fit as much on one map.

They all break up the BWCA differently. I usually get the map that I have to buy the least number of maps to cover my trip.