Latest News on the Boundary Waters

The following news stories are provided by the Google News Feed service. The search term used is Boundary Waters Canoe Area.


Wed, 18 Mar 2020 11:26:03 GMT
  1. Judge backs Twin Metals mine in BWCA dispute  wtip.org
  2. Federal judge hands Twin Metals major win in fight over mining near Boundary Waters  Minneapolis Star Tribune
  3. Federal Judge Backs Mineral Leases in Minnesota's Boundary Waters  Courthouse News Service
  4. Federal judge upholds Twin Metals' mineral leases  Duluth News Tribune
  5. Judge Backs Twin Metals Mine in Lease Dispute  WJON News
  6. View Full Coverage on Google News
Thu, 26 Mar 2020 14:37:19 GMT Power structure at McCollum-bill hearing shows what local BWCA supporters are up against  MinnPost
Fri, 27 Mar 2020 16:50:20 GMT Let These Photos Take You on a Peaceful Paddle in Minnesota's Boundary Waters  Smithsonian.com
Wed, 04 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT EDITORIAL | Heed Minnesotans, not special interests, on new mining operations  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Thu, 12 Mar 2020 07:00:00 GMT Boundary Waters magazine publisher Stu Osthoff makes time for his own adventures  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Mon, 02 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT MONDAY: Mining and Minnesota’s Boundary Waters on WIZM’s La Crosse Talk PM  WIZM NEWS
Tue, 03 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT EDITORIAL | Redacted report shows how public is kept in the dark on BWCA risks  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Fri, 06 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT Minnesota needs respectful leaders who put the health of our waters and children first  MinnPost
Fri, 06 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT Fight for the Boundary Waters | Columns  Country Messenger
Wed, 18 Mar 2020 07:00:00 GMT Minnesota requests elusive U.S. Forest Service study on copper mining effects  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Tue, 10 Mar 2020 07:00:00 GMT Reader's View: Klobuchar silent on copper mining  Duluth News Tribune
Wed, 18 Mar 2020 18:49:32 GMT BWCAW Mining Moves Forward: Judge Favors Twin Metals  GearJunkie
Fri, 28 Feb 2020 08:00:00 GMT OPINION EXCHANGE | Gov. Walz is undermining his goals by supporting mining  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 23:25:26 GMT Shuttering of Canada-U.S. border has implications for outdoors-related business  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Wed, 25 Mar 2020 05:00:00 GMT 1970: Legal fight over BWCA | History  PostBulletin.com
Sun, 29 Mar 2020 09:10:58 GMT Wild turkeys give hope at Lake Maumelle trip  Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
Wed, 18 Mar 2020 07:00:00 GMT Judge Backs Minnesota's Twin Metal Mines in Lease Dispute  FOX 21 Online
Sun, 22 Mar 2020 17:25:41 GMT House Democrat trying to enlist Trudeau in fight to save boundary waters  POLITICO
Thu, 05 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT Readers Write: Gun control, primary voting, mining near the Boundary Waters, coronavirus  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Mon, 23 Mar 2020 19:03:53 GMT Star Tribune outdoors project takes first place in national contest  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Thu, 12 Mar 2020 07:00:00 GMT Superior National Forest Update - March 13  wtip.org
Tue, 03 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT Get Outdoors: Winter camping in the BWCAW  KBJR 6
Tue, 17 Mar 2020 07:00:00 GMT For now, you can still go for a walk in the woods, says Minnesota DNR  MinnPost
Wed, 04 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT Redacted environmental assessment angers mining opponents  Duluth News Tribune
Tue, 17 Mar 2020 07:00:00 GMT Stauber pushes Congress to defeat McCollum bill to stop copper-nickel mining near BWCA  Hibbing Daily Tribune
Sun, 04 Aug 2019 07:00:00 GMT This Stretch of Wilderness Is One of the Most Gorgeously Serene Places in America  Travel+Leisure
Sun, 29 Mar 2020 10:05:57 GMT While at home, dream, plan and become an armchair traveler  Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 07:00:00 GMT Thompson, Richard W | Obituaries  The Bozeman Daily Chronicle
Thu, 10 Oct 2019 07:00:00 GMT Ask a ‘sotan: The history of living in the Boundary Waters  Minnesota Public Radio News
Mon, 02 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT From trading to mines to resorts, the Gunflint Trail has long played a big role in northeastern Minnesota's economy  MinnPost
Tue, 25 Feb 2020 08:00:00 GMT POLL: Minnesota opposed to mining near Boundary Waters Canoe Area, but it, too, is somewhat political  WIZM NEWS
Wed, 22 May 2019 02:40:37 GMT The Uncertain Future of the Boundary Waters  Outside
Thu, 05 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT Ely adopts pro-copper mining resolution, shunts Bois Forte Band boycott discussion  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Wed, 15 Jan 2020 08:00:00 GMT Earthjustice Endorses McCollum Legislation to Protect the Boundary Waters  Earthjustice
Wed, 15 Jan 2020 22:00:40 GMT BWCA Mining: House Introduces Sweeping Wilderness Protection Bill  GearJunkie
Tue, 06 Aug 2019 07:00:00 GMT 5 days in the Boundary Waters reveal untouched beauty, rugged terrain  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Tue, 03 Dec 2019 08:00:00 GMT Wisconsin researchers find microplastics in Boundary Waters  WEAU
Wed, 08 May 2019 07:00:00 GMT Boundary Waters at Risk  Center For American Progress
Sat, 23 Nov 2019 08:00:00 GMT EDITORIAL | Courses of action: How to protect the Boundary Waters  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Wed, 05 Feb 2020 08:00:00 GMT Two sides square off at hearing on bill to ban mining near Boundary Waters  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Thu, 16 Jan 2020 08:00:00 GMT US Rep. McCollum introduces bill to ban mining near Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness  MinnPost
Thu, 04 Jul 2019 20:04:15 GMT Looking back: 20 years ago, blowdown flattened swaths of Boundary Waters  MPR News
Tue, 17 Dec 2019 08:00:00 GMT Study of mining near Boundary Waters cut from federal spending bill  MinnPost
Mon, 02 Dec 2019 08:00:00 GMT UW-Eau Claire Researchers Find Microplastics In Boundary Waters Wilderness Area  Wisconsin Public Radio News
Tue, 03 Mar 2020 23:10:34 GMT Portage Trails and Language, Walking and Communication  Brooklyn Rail
Wed, 29 Jan 2020 08:00:00 GMT BWCA permit reservation system opens  KBJR 6
Wed, 15 Jan 2020 08:00:00 GMT Boundary Waters permits go live Jan. 29  Duluth News Tribune
Mon, 27 Jan 2020 08:00:00 GMT BWCA permit reservation opens soon  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Sun, 22 Mar 2020 11:17:58 GMT Minnesota on the edge: ‘I’ve voted Democrat my whole life. It’s getting tougher.’  POLITICO
Mon, 05 Aug 2019 07:00:00 GMT Father, son launch epic Boundary Waters canoe journey  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Sat, 29 Feb 2020 08:00:00 GMT The Boycotting of the Bois Forte-owned Fortune Bay  Hibbing Daily Tribune
Thu, 19 Sep 2019 07:00:00 GMT Lake County meets with Boundary Waters appraisers  Duluth News Tribune
Wed, 06 Nov 2019 08:00:00 GMT Sportsmen: Trump's assault on Boundary Waters part of larger pattern  Herald Review
Thu, 25 Jul 2019 07:00:00 GMT Questions to ask before a trip into the BWCA  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Wed, 18 Dec 2019 08:00:00 GMT Twin Metals submits formal plans for mine near the Boundary Waters  Minnesota Public Radio News
Thu, 16 Jan 2020 17:36:53 GMT New Legislation Aimed at Protecting Minnesota's Boundary Waters  Outdoor Life
Wed, 19 Feb 2020 08:00:00 GMT Boundary Waters Conservation Alliance PAC seeks mining moratorium  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Thu, 06 Feb 2020 08:00:00 GMT Julia Louis-Dreyfus calls MN's Boundary Waters America's most underrated destination  City Pages
Sat, 27 Jul 2019 07:00:00 GMT St. Paul team swims and paddles Boundary Waters in mine protest  TwinCities.com-Pioneer Press
Fri, 17 Jan 2020 08:00:00 GMT Let's prevent irreparable harm to an irreplaceable wilderness area | TheHill  The Hill
Fri, 22 Nov 2019 08:00:00 GMT State will review proposed mine near BWCA independently from feds  KARE11.com
Mon, 23 Mar 2020 14:00:00 GMT Inside lawmakers' latest coronavirus bill  Politico
Mon, 13 Jan 2020 19:11:32 GMT Clean Water Win: Minnesota Court Rejects Mining Permits  GearJunkie
Wed, 25 Mar 2020 21:07:27 GMT Cook County Issues Travel Advisory  Lake Superior News
Fri, 26 Jul 2019 07:00:00 GMT Girl Scouts brought to safety after lightning strike in Boundary Waters  Minnesota Public Radio News
Tue, 28 May 2019 07:00:00 GMT How To Boundary Waters: Minnesota's favorite outdoor playground is open to all—with a bit of planning  The Growler
Mon, 18 Nov 2019 08:00:00 GMT Minnesota conservationist Ernest Oberholtzer worked to protect the Boundary Waters  MinnPost
Fri, 26 Jul 2019 07:00:00 GMT BWCA permits could be handed out again in a lottery system  St. Cloud Times
Tue, 04 Feb 2020 08:00:00 GMT Timeline: Explore how mining threatens the Boundary Waters  The Wilderness Society
Fri, 20 Dec 2019 08:00:00 GMT County gets good news on BWCA payments  wtip.org
Thu, 05 Mar 2020 08:00:00 GMT Readers Write: Free college promises, Sen. Bernie Sanders, no-wake boating, BWCA and mining, Minnesota Gophers pride  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Tue, 25 Jun 2019 07:00:00 GMT Seeing the BWCA through the eyes of a 12-year-old  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Thu, 05 Dec 2019 08:00:00 GMT ‘I Was Shocked’: UW-Eau Claire Researchers Discover Microplastics In BWCA  WCCO | CBS Minnesota
Tue, 05 Nov 2019 18:08:18 GMT Spoiling the Boundary Waters is one of many crimes against nature  Des Moines Register
Fri, 26 Apr 2019 07:00:00 GMT Scattered remains, possibly human, found in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wildnerness  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Fri, 06 Dec 2019 08:00:00 GMT Readers Write: Twin Metals mine and the BWCA, a Christmas list for politicians  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Thu, 20 Jun 2019 22:33:46 GMT Environmental group sues Trump administration over mining rules near Boundary Waters  MPR News
Mon, 05 Aug 2019 07:00:00 GMT Beast of a BWCA portage heightens the action  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Fri, 20 Dec 2019 08:00:00 GMT US Forest Service will reappraise Boundary Waters  Duluth News Tribune
Wed, 05 Feb 2020 08:00:00 GMT Congressional panel weighs proposal to bar copper-nickel mining near BWCA  TwinCities.com-Pioneer Press
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 08:00:00 GMT Sportsmen: Trump's Boundary Waters assault misguided | Opinion  Herald Review
Fri, 28 Jun 2019 07:00:00 GMT How a landscape architect's vision for a roadless area led to the Boundary Waters  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Wed, 10 Jul 2019 07:00:00 GMT Paddler air-evacuated from Boundary Waters  wtip.org
Wed, 16 Oct 2019 07:00:00 GMT Why presidential candidates are talking about the Boundary Waters  MinnPost
Fri, 28 Feb 2020 08:00:00 GMT The Ojibwe have every right to oppose copper-nickel mining in northern Minnesota  MinnPost
Fri, 07 Feb 2020 15:54:23 GMT 'Veep,' 'Seinfeld' star Julia Louis-Dreyfus is a big Boundary Waters fan  Bring Me The News
Mon, 08 Jul 2019 07:00:00 GMT Teen found in Canada after wandering away from Boundary Waters  Duluth News Tribune
Thu, 25 Apr 2019 07:00:00 GMT Kids for the Boundary Waters Fights Mining in MN  Minnesota Monthly
Fri, 10 May 2019 07:00:00 GMT Remains found in Boundary Waters confirmed to be human  Duluth News Tribune
Fri, 17 Jan 2020 08:00:00 GMT EDITORIAL | Federal bill offers critical BWCA protection from mining  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Thu, 06 Jun 2019 07:00:00 GMT Anderson: BWCA conflict of the 1970s left many in its wake  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Tue, 24 Dec 2019 08:00:00 GMT Environmentalists win new review of Twin Metals mine impact  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Wed, 03 Jul 2019 07:00:00 GMT 20 years later, effects of massive Boundary Waters windstorm still felt  TwinCities.com-Pioneer Press
Fri, 16 Aug 2019 07:00:00 GMT Encampment Minerals plans exploratory drilling near BWCAW  Duluth News Tribune
Mon, 27 May 2019 07:00:00 GMT After 25 years, a return to Ensign Lake in the BWCA  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Wed, 23 Oct 2019 07:00:00 GMT Trump canceled a federal study about the impacts of mining near the Boundary Waters. Rep. Betty McCollum is trying to bring it back  MinnPost
Mon, 14 Oct 2019 07:00:00 GMT Springfield teen rewarded for Boundary Waters advocacy  The State Journal-Register
Fri, 16 Aug 2019 07:00:00 GMT Final BWCA paddle might signal new beginning for son  Minneapolis Star Tribune
Wed, 15 May 2019 20:23:13 GMT Trump Administration Opens BWCA Watershed to More Controversial Mining  GearJunkie
Mon, 29 Jul 2019 07:00:00 GMT From 'they need it' to 'it's going to destroy the land,' people in Ely have a lot of thoughts about Twin Metals  MinnPost